LISTEN TO ME

Don’t Follow Me

What you do speaks so loudly that I cannot hear what you are saying.”                                                                     Ralf Waldo Emerson

If you listen to what I say or write and don’t notice what I do, you are more likely to hear me. Don’t be guided by what I do. I don’t always practice what I preach. Do you?  Does anyone? To preach is to advocate, encourage, persuade, to give advice. To practice is to do or preform habitually or customarily. I believe during most of my career I have had a habit of advocating and giving lots of advice about personal decision making, some of it is possibly good advice.  But I don’t always have a habit of following my advice. I wonder how many people don’t have that habit?

It is well-known that it easer to give good advice than it is to follow the advice you give. My preaching/practicing confession in this blog is to encourage readers to examine how much they practice what they preach. Does your behavior match your beliefs? Are you a good example of what you advocate?

I have been an advocate of the following advice; a very small sampling:

  • Be open-minded – receptive to new ideas.
  • Be open-hearted – full of empathy and compassion.
  • Keep your mind’s eye on what you don’t see.
  • Become as capable of change as the environment.

 I can recite examples when I don’t behave this way. And I am sure there are many examples I am not even aware of. Although I am not alone in this transgression, I am not proud of it. It is something I will work on but don’t expect to fully overcome.

Are you aware of your processes of preaching (believing) and practicing (behaving). Do you often pause and reflect?

  • Do you listen to yourself speak (preaching, advocating, advising) and then watch what you do (your behavior).
  • Do you look at what you do, and then ask yourself: “Is that what I would advise others to do?” “Should I change what I practice or what I preach?”
  • Do you ask for feedback when reflecting?
  • When your belief and behavior conflict (cognitive dissonance), what do you decide?

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LISTEN TO ME

  1. betsy collard says:

    All very true and thought-provoking as usual!

    Thanks HB, BETSY >

Leave a Reply

