WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD

Or Is It?

The song What A Wonderful World was written by Bob Thiele and George David Weiss in 1967. Louis Armstrong made it famous and his recording was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1999. You may remember in 1988, Armstrong’s recording was featured in the film Good Morning, Vietnam, in which a DJ played it on the radio in 1965 during the war—two years before it was recorded. The complete lyrics:

I see trees of green, red roses too. I see them bloom, for me and you.                                        And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue, And clouds of white. The bright blessed day, The dark sacred night.          And I think to myself, What a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow, So pretty in the sky. Are also on the faces, Of people going by,I see friends shaking hands. Saying, “How do you do?” They’re really saying, “I love you”.

I hear babies cry, I watch them grow, They’ll learn much more, Than I’ll ever know.         And I think to myself, What a wonderful world.                                                                             Yes, I think to myself, What a wonderful world.

Oh yeah,

Somehow reviewing this (one of my favorite recordings) and living in the current world of today, made me wonder, “Will it be a wonderful world of tomorrow?”                        (Remember, the United States is not the world.)

  • Will we see trees of green and skies of blue?
  • Will people be shaking hands and saying “I love you?”
  • What will babies learn about the world as they grow up?
  • Will we believe everything is interconnected to everything else?
  • Will “Of the people, by the people and for the people” perish?
  • What will be the bottom line of the rule “Do unto others…… ?

Oh yeah,

This entry was posted in Beliefs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD

  1. Gene Unger says:

    H,,I see this wonderful world at the beginning of every day! I sing and pray” oh what a beautiful morning oh what a beautiful day ,I’ve got a beautiful feeling that Jesus is with me today ! Oh what a beautiful day !” Then I pray for you HB and all my family and friends and the worlds problems. Love others as you love your self. If I start this way, how can I be negative? World realities!? Scripture warns us these things will happen,don’t be surprised ! Concerns about me? I have learned it’s not about me. Those issues are Gods business as are they all. Easy? Not supposed to be easy. It’s supposed to be our life’s work for His Way. Your happy friend who loves you and breakfast. Which more? Haha Gene

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Marianne says:

    This is a wonderful piece,H B. One of your best. I think I will take it back to our group in Ct to discuss. I also appreciate Gene’s reply. Although I don’t come from the exact same view as Gene, I do come from the belief that the loving energy-that I call God-is moving through the world as it always has been. Through knowledge of quantum physics we know that we are interconnected with all living things. I think if Betty Dimmick and Margaret McClellan were still with us, they would say the chaos in the world is part of breaking apart the negative energy in the world in order to move to a higher level of consciousness, or a higher level of love and care of others. I have to admit I don’t understand all I have just said, but I do believe the premise. So I would say I am optimistic, except I think you pointed out that just means seeing things the way I want to believe they are, so I will say instead that I am hopeful. I would love to talk about this in person.

Leave a Reply

