THE HUMAN BODY

A Superb Example of Interconnectedness

The human body can walk and write, but none of its parts can. Unknown

I spend a lot of my days walking and writing. The unknown quote above is what stimulated this blog. The human body is indeed a remarkable example of interconnectedness.

The toe bone’s connected to the foot bone,

The foot bone’s connected to the ankle bone,

The ankle bone’s connected to the leg bone.

Dem Dry Bones lyrics

 It is amazing how the body parts interact and depend on each other. I wish I knew enough to give more examples. The interconnectedness of the immune system is a mystery to me. Although I am not well versed in knowledge of the human body, I am less acquainted with the planet earth or the universe, which are also great examples of interconnectedness.

We keep being told that everything is interconnected the everything else in an unbroken wholeness. And that reality may be constructed in such a way that the human mind cannot discern. I have written about the wonder of interconnectedness, and my inability to understand it. My strategy has been to be in awe — having a sense of wonderment. Awe is a mixed emotion of reverence, respect and wonder. I believe many others who live in a human body also do not understand its marvelous interconnectedness. The same lack of understanding could be said of the earth and the universe. I believe this means that all of us living on the earth are interconnected in an unbroken wholeness that we don’t understand.

Science tells us: The whole is equal to more than its parts. Each part is the whole. We could say that the whole is equal to the multiple of its interconnected parts. My point of this blog is to emphasize my belief that we humans have “wholeness blindness”. The interconnectedness of everything is impossible to see. We need to accept the fact that we really don’t fully understand the interconnected wholeness of reality. Science can help us “see” some of the invisible interconnections. But since some of that doesn’t always work for me, I remain in awe.

In an increasingly complex, unpredictable world, what matters most isn’t I Q, willpower, or confidence in what we know. It’s how we deal with what we don’t understand.

Jamie Holmes in Nonsense, 2015

 

This entry was posted in Beliefs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE HUMAN BODY

  1. Gene Unger says:

    Pretty good plan designed by a loving God!! Why else would He have told us to love all our fellow men? That the world would know us by our love? No religion , no church no hierarchy , just love . Soft science for hard hearts.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Marianne says:

    As always, a thought provoking blog. I’m thinking of this terrible attack in Brussels and how it effects all of us. Now we have news reports that make the horror and sadness for the victims part of our lives. We are connected to all, as Gene said in his blog, connected by our love.

Leave a Reply

