THE WINDOWS OF MY MIND

Wide Open, I Hope

An open, beginner’s mind allows us to be receptive to new possibilities
and prevents us from getting stuck in the rut of our own expertize,
which often thinks it knows more than it does.  Jon Kabat-Zinn

Metaphorically, I think of “the windows of my mind” as my perspective, my worldview, the way I see things. I see the world through the windows of my perspective. My windows perspective is made up of my collection of beliefs about the world. Windows is plural because I need a wide, broad, inclusive perspective as well as an open one. I like to believe that the many windows of my mind are open and inclusive. Of course, I am aware this may not always be true.

I have been promoting an open and inclusive collective worldview for many years, although I admit that the current collective worldview (held by the majority of the world today) is anything but open and inclusive. For example, the current political campaigning isn’t offering much open-minded inclusiveness. And there are many well-identified international organizations and groups that publically declare closed-minded exclusive views.

What has been happening to the rest of us is that as psychological threats and uncertainty in the world is increasing, the need for certainty and closure increases. This closed-mindedness is like shutting down the windows of our minds. When it gets cold and stormy outside our house we close the windows. When it gets uncertain and scary outside our minds, we close the windows (perspectives) of our minds.

When threatened with increased uncertainty: We don’t say to ourselves,
its time to reconstruct my worldview, Jamie Holmes.

This blog about the metaphor of windows as perspective is not proposing a solution to closed and exclusive worldviews. The solution, of course, would be to create a collective open and inclusive worldview held by the majority of people. Good luck. I hope that a majority of the people will at least not close the windows of their minds when things get more uncertain and scary.

For me, and maybe for some of you, this windows metaphor helps to be aware of the way I we things. What window am I seeing through? What window am I not seeing through? My training and experience in counseling and decision making has given me a perspective different than many people and burdened me with certain personal cognitive biases. Your training and experience has done the same for you. The idea of multiple windows helps me to look for other useful (more open and inclusive) perspectives. I want to keep reviewing and renewing my worldview. Do you?

This entry was posted in Beliefs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE WINDOWS OF MY MIND

  1. Eugene Unger says:

    Well done my friend ! First game today. Hot but Giants looked good! G

    Gene

    >

Leave a Reply

