H B’S WRITING

Why Do I Blog?

“I write to discover what I think.”  Daniel Boorstin

Daniel Boorstin is one of the many authors I have admired over the years of my reading nonfiction and his quote above answers my question in the subtitle.

I have been blessed or obsessed with a thinking mind. I don’t seem to be able to stop thinking. I think about my thinking of course when I read and write. But I also think when I take walks in nature, when I nap and when I shower. Thank goodness I don’t think about my thinking when I play tennis or watch sports.

Because I get very little response and feedback from writing my blogs, I wonder why I keep blogging. Now I know. I have been able to say that I write my blogs for me. Now I no longer have to ask: Does anyone care if I am writing?” Because I care. I will continue to write to discover what I think, and maybe I will learn to also create what I think.

So here come more blogs, ready or not. I am on my discovery/creative journey.

 

 

This entry was posted in Beliefs. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to H B’S WRITING

  1. HB:
    I appreciate your thinking and look forward to your blogs. You have stimulate my thinking, and action with your writing. I recently created a little slide presentation on being a “thought leader” more really being lead by my thought than leading anyone else with my thoughts http://www.davidzinger.com/a-thought-leadership-manifesto-17547/. Carry on caring and writing.

    • hbgelatt says:

      David
      Your e-mail address did not work for me.
      Thanks for the thoughtful reply to my blog. I appreciate knowing someone finds my writing useful.
      I looked into your Thought Leadership and saw that one of your 12 ways to get cracking involved ignorance.

      I wrote an essay six years ago, In Search of Ignorance. I thought it might interest you. I will send it if you want and give me a e-mail address I can use.

      To see more of my writing check my website: gelattpartners.com

      Regards, H B

    • hbgelatt says:

      David
      Your e-mail address did not work for me.
      Thanks for the thoughtful reply to my blog. I appreciate knowing someone finds my writing useful.
      I looked into your Thought Leadership and saw that one of your 12 ways to get cracking involved ignorance.

      I wrote an essay six years ago, In Search of Ignorance. I thought it might interest you. I will send it if you want and give me a e-mail address I can use.

      To see more of my writing check my website: gelattpartners.com

      Regards, H B

  2. mclark3366@comcast.net says:

    I’m glad you have discovered the meaning for your writing!! I know you have “fussed” about that for a long time, so now you can relax and enjoy it.  Don’t stop sending the blogs, however, because they jog in me what I think or might be clearer about.  Even if I don’t respond always, I enjoy seeing them.

    We have made our spring reservations for March 7 through April 7.

    Marianne

  3. John Krumboltz says:

    I also enjoy learning what you think even if I don’t reply. John

  4. Robert Leon says:

    Partner (Ye of Little Faith)       You were right.  John chose me.  I have less faith in him  Karen plays really well  Bob plays terribly. Fortunately John. to my amazement,  only played Karen.      I like your new blog phlosdophy.  Have we discussed the possibility of trhinking without language? I am glad (I guesss) you play tennis without thinking.         Bob

    ________________________________

  5. Gene Unger says:

    I think you have a good idea! Go,for it! Gene

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. Betsy Collard says:

    I’m back and trying to adjust to jet lag and being home. I liked this blog – I do think that’s an important reason to write and I think writing about what I think does help me clarify and explore in ways that just talking to myself or others doesn’t often. Anyway, what about coffee one morning. I could do Wed. or Thurs. of this week. Available? B

    Date: Wed, 22 Jan 2014 02:21:31 +0000 To: bacollard@hotmail.com

  7. Shelley Casey says:

    Keep it up, HB. I read all your blogs. I just don’t usually have anything relevant or interesting to respond. But I do think about what you’ve written.

Leave a Reply

