H B’s FAVORITE FORMULAS

Mind-Altering Prescriptions

The greatest discovery of my generation is that human beings can alter their

lives by altering their attitudes of mind. William James

To start the New Year I will review some “life-altering” strategies I have been promoting over the years and rewrite them into short formulas. I call them formulas because I think of them as recipes for expanding the way we see things and do things. I call them mine because they are unsupported by scientific research and because they may or may not be true.

Psychology has established that between four and seven things is the most the human mind can remember, so I am starting with four formulas and making them short to improve the possibility of remembering. They are in no particular order.

1. More information = more uncertainty.

  • The more you know the more you realize you don’t know.

2. Beliefs become behavior.

  • Believing is seeing and seeing is doing.

3. Become as capable of change as the environment.

  • Change happens to you and by you, and doesn’t wait for you.

4. Keep your mind’s eye on what you don’t see.

  • What you see is not all there is.

I suggest you memorize the four formulas and see if that alters your life. I may add more formulas if someone “likes”.

 

This entry was posted in Words to Live By. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to H B’s FAVORITE FORMULAS

  1. Robert Leon says:

    Partner, I like this idea. Keep them coming. My nephew. Sent a letter to the Times. It was published. It was a response to David Brooks column condemning the use of marijuana. You should try writing them. Your ideas are deserving of wider readership. Where did you get that “fact” about memory? Does not seem correct to me. Have you hears about the International Memory Contest? Bob

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

